Join our facebook
page for updates
and announcements.


How a Good Idea Became a Great Tradition

Over 100 years ago, hunters and anglers were the earliest and most vocal supporters of conservation and scientific wildlife management. They were the first to recognize that rapid development and unregulated uses of wildlife were threatening the future of many species.

Led by fellow sportsman President Theodore Roosevelt, these early conservationists called for the first laws restricting the commercial slaughter of wildlife. They urged sustainable use of fish and game, created hunting and fishing licenses, and lobbied for taxes on sporting equipment to provide funds for state conservation agencies. These actions were the foundation of the North American wildlife conservation model, a science-based, user-pay system that would foster the most dramatic conservation successes of all time.

Populations of white-tailed deer, elk, antelope, wild turkey, wood ducks and many other species began to recover from decades of unregulated exploitation.

During the next half-century, in addition to the funds they contributed for conservation and their diligent watch over the returning health of America’s outdoors, sportsmen worked countless hours to protect and improve millions of acres of vital habitat—lands and waters for the use and enjoyment of everyone.

In the 1960s, hunters and anglers embraced the era's heightened environmental awareness but were discouraged that many people didn't understand the crucial role that sportsmen had played-and continue to play-in the conservation movement.

The first to suggest an official day of thanks to sportsmen was Ira Joffe, owner of Joffe's Gun Shop in Upper Darby, Pa. In 1970, Pennsylvania Gov. Raymond Shafer adopted Joffe's idea and created "Outdoor Sportsman's Day" in the state.

With determined prompting from the National Shooting Sports Foundation, the concept soon emerged on the floor of the U.S. Senate. In June 1971, Sen. Thomas McIntyre, N.H., introduced Joint Resolution 117 authorizing National Hunting and Fishing Day on the fourth Saturday of every September. Rep. Bob Sikes, Fla., introduced an identical measure in the House. In early 1972, Congress unanimously passed both bills.

On May 2, 1972, President Nixon signed the first proclamation of National Hunting and Fishing Day, writing, "I urge all citizens to join with outdoor sportsmen in the wise use of our natural resources and in insuring their proper management for the benefit of future generations."

By late summer, all 50 governors and over 600 mayors had joined in by proclaiming state and local versions of National Hunting and Fishing Day. The response was dramatic.

National, regional, state and local organizations staged some 3,000 "open house" hunting- and fishing-related events everywhere from shooting ranges to suburban frog ponds, providing an estimated four million Americans with a chance to experience, understand and appreciate traditional outdoor sports.

Over the years, National Hunting and Fishing Day boasted many more public relations successes, assisted by celebrities who volunteered to help spotlight the conservation accomplishments of sportsmen and women. Honorary chairs have included George Bush, Tom Seaver, Hank Williams Jr., Arnold Palmer, Terry Bradshaw, George Brett, Robert Urich, Ward Burton, Louise Mandrell, Travis Tritt, Tracy Byrd, Jeff Foxworthy and many other sports and entertainment figures.

National Hunting and Fishing Day, celebrated the fourth Saturday of every September, remains the most effective grassroots efforts ever undertaken to promote the outdoor sports and conservation.


Honorary Chairs

Traditionally, National Hunting and Fishing Day has benefitted from the volunteerism of celebrities who are passionate about hunting, fishing and conservation. Their involvement helps bring national attention to our cause!

Honorary chairs have included:

 1976 Jim “Catfish” Hunter
1977 Bert Jones
1978 Tom Weiskopf
1979 Ron Guidry
1980 Terry Bradshaw
1981 Johnny Miller, Roscoe Tanner, Bert Jones, Tom Weiskopf
1982 John Havlicek
1983 Tom Seaver
1984 John Riggins
1985 Arnold Palmer
1986 George Brett
1987 Jameson Parker
1988 Hank Williams Jr.
1989 Hank Williams Jr.
1990 Robert Urich
1991 George Bush
1995 Louise Mandrell
1996 Gary F. Coley Family
1998 Tom Lehman
1999 Jay Novacek
2000 Ward Burton
2003 Travis Tritt
2004 Wade Boggs
2005 Tracy Byrd
2006 Tracy Byrd
2007 Jeff Foxworthy
2008 Michael Waddell
2009 Luke Bryan

2010 USA Shooting Team

2011 T. Boone Pickens

2012 Tony Stewart

2013 Bill Dance

2014 Craig Morgan

2015 Jim & Eva Shockey 

2016 Johnny Morris

Missing names indicate no chair selected for that particular year or missing documentation of selection.