Yamaha Sweepstakes
Click here to sign up!
Join our facebook
page for updates
and announcements.

Traditionally, National Hunting and Fishing Day has benefitted from the volunteerism of celebrities who are passionate about hunting, fishing and conservation. Their involvement helps bring national attention to our cause!


National Hunting and Fishing Day is proud to annouce that our 2017 Honorary Chair is

Richard Childress


Honorary Chair Profile


Richard Childress

Chairman and CEO of Richard Childress Racing

Off the track, Richard Childress is known for being a businessman, philanthropist and conservationist. He has a passion for investing in our nations youth and is the driving force of National Hunting and Fishing Day's new campaign which focuses on reaching expereienced hunters, angelers, and outdoorsmen and motivating them to take someone new into the outdoors. 


  • More than 200 NASCAR victories
  • Two Daytona 500 Championships and three Brickyard 400 wins
  • First owner to win championships in all three touring NASCAR series
  • Six Cup Series Owner Championships
  • Five NASCAR XFINITY Series Owner Championships
  • Four NASCAR XFINITY Series Driver Championships
  • Two NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Championships
  • One ARCA Racing Series Championship
  • The Sporting News Owner of the Year: 2001, 2006 and 2010
  • 2008 NASCAR Humanitarian of the Year
  • 2011 NASCAR Buddy Shuman Award winner
  • North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame class of 2008
  • International Motorsports Hall of Fame class of 2011
  • National Motorsports Press Association Hall of Fame class of 2012
  • Motorsports Hall of Fame class of 2016
  • North Carolina Auto Racing Hall of Fame class of 2016
  • NASCAR Hall of Fame class of 2017   


Past Honorary Chairs




1976 Jim “Catfish” Hunter
1977 Bert Jones
1978 Tom Weiskopf
1979 Ron Guidry
1980 Terry Bradshaw
1981 Johnny Miller,

        Roscoe Tanner,

        Bert Jones,

        Tom Weiskopf
1982 John Havlicek
1983 Tom Seaver
1984 John Riggins

1985 Arnold Palmer
1986 George Brett
1987 Jameson Parker
1988 Hank Williams Jr.
1989 Hank Williams Jr.
1990 Robert Urich
1991 George Bush
1995 Louise Mandrell
1996 Gary F. Coley Family
1998 Tom Lehman
1999 Jay Novacek
2000 Ward Burton

2003 Travis Tritt
2004 Wade Boggs
2005 Tracy Byrd
2006 Tracy Byrd
2007 Jeff Foxworthy
2008 Michael Waddell
2009 Luke Bryan

2010 USA Shooting Team

2011 T. Boone Pickens

2012 Tony Stewart

2013 Bill Dance